RSS Feed

Vegetarian? Me Neither! Fancy Trying Gnocchi?

Hi! How’s your week been?

I’ve been attempting to get my head around e-commerce websites all week. Not an easy task for me! Suddenly it’s Friday evening and I feel like I’ve got nothing done!

Anyway, time for dinner. I fancied cooking something relatively quick and easy for this evening’s meal, so it had to be one of my all time favourite Italian treats. Gnocchi! This is a version of one of the dishes I used to serve in the restaurant, it was almost always greeted with the deserved amount of enthusiasm by the diner who had made such a well-informed selection from the menu. It is packed full of flavour and all things good for you!

A lot of people appear to have been put off gnocchi at some point, myself included, usually by a version that has been boiled within an inch of it’s life and served in a thick, claggy sauce. This dish could not be more different. My favourite way to cook gnocchi is to saute it in olive oil and garlic butter, this gives it real texture.

For this dish, take an assortment of mediterranean type vegetables and cut them into slightly larger than bite sized chunks. I’ve used courgette, celery, red onion and red, green and yellow peppers, but feel free to vary these as you see fit. Then toss them in a little olive oil and char-grill them until they’re tender and have char lines. Put these to the side and keep them warm. Cut some cherry tomatoes in half and slice some garlic nice and thinly, then put a wide based, non-stick pan on a medium heat. Drizzle some olive oil in to the pan with a knob of butter, then add the garlic and enough gnocchi for the number of people you’re cooking for. Cook this on a low to medium heat until the gnocchi starts to turn a golden brown colour, then add your halved cherry tomatoes and char-grilled vegetables. Keep turning the contents of the pan until the vegetables are hot and the tomatoes are softening, then add a handful of fresh rocket leaves and a good spoonful of decent pesto and turn the heat off. Toss or stir the pan contents for a couple of minutes to distribute the pesto and wilt the rocket, then serve immediately into hot bowls and shave a little parmesan over the top.

This is a very easy recipe and is adaptable to use the vegetable contents of your fridge. Even if you’re not vegetarian, I think that you’ll love this. I personally love good quality meat and eat quite a lot of it in my diet, but I can honestly say that in this dish there is enough going on for me not to miss it!

I think this recipe and adaptations of it would really suit anyone who is trying to incorporate a meat free day into their week. It certainly works for me!

Thanks for reading and enjoy!

About Jason's Food Blog

I am very passionate about all things food! I have been involved in the catering industry in the north-west of England for the last fifteen years. I sold my restaurant business at the start of 2011 and I'm now creating small batch artisan food products for retail, including the very finest recipe for Piccalilli, the best Terrine of Ham Hock, Pate de Campagne and many other delicious treats that will be the finest foods you'll ever taste! Very soon I will be launching an e-commerce website hosting a fine food shop, from which you'll be able to purchase my own hand made produce, as well as some fabulous foods from other artisan producers from the north-west of England and beyond. In the mean time, feel free to have a look at my blog, where I will keep you informed of the very latest news and my own views about many new food and drink products that I think you'll enjoy. Happy eating, drinking and reading!

One response »

  1. Might give this a go next week. Quick, easy and tasty; got to be a winner.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

