RSS Feed

Apple Sauce…..

Hello again and thanks for taking a look at my blog.

For the past few months I’ve been perfecting recipes for various items that will be making it onto my product list. This evening it was time to test the Apple Sauce. This is a condiment that I’ve been tinkering with for many years. In my restaurant days I would try lots of different approaches to it; chunky, smooth, thick, thin, sharp, sweet, Bramley, dessert apple, etc. and I think I’ve finally cracked it!

The whole point of what I’m striving to do with all of the products that I’m creating is to give the purest flavour of the main ingredient. This is not easy when you take into consideration the guaranteed shelf-life that is required for consumer food products sold by retail. I’ve always been used to making recipes in small batches to be used within three to five days. I’m not at all willing to put any preservatives, bulking agents, artificial flavour enhancers, etc. in any of my products which means I must take a lot of care when selecting every ingredient in the final recipe.

Roasted Leg of Pork with my Source Fine Foods Apple Sauce, Sauteed New Potatoes and Wilted Lettuce

In my Apple Sauce recipe there are only three ingredients. I would have liked to use a recipe that I used for my own wedding which consists of Granny Smith apples and….. and that’s it! However, in order to give a longer shelf-life I’ve had to add a small amount of fresh lemon juice and an even smaller amount of sugar. Fortunately, the quantities of each do very little to alter the essential apple flavour that I have been working towards and I’m now very happy with the flavour and texture of the final recipe. I have used Granny Smiths this time, but must confess to being less than happy with the food miles involved with this species of apple. This means that there is likely to be a very small amount of seasonal variation to the flavour of my Apple Sauce. I personally don’t see this as a bad thing as I know instinctively what characteristics the right apple for my sauce must posess from simply tasting it raw. This will give consumers the experience of tasting various single apple species sauces at the same time as being environmentally responsible.

If you have any comments regarding the characteristics that you like from your apple sauce, please do feel free to let me know. Also, I will have some small sample jars of various products that I would like feedback on from a small sample of people. Again, if you would like to be in this group just let me know.

 

Thanks for reading and until the next time, happy eating!

About Jason's Food Blog

I am very passionate about all things food! I have been involved in the catering industry in the north-west of England for the last fifteen years. I sold my restaurant business at the start of 2011 and I'm now creating small batch artisan food products for retail, including the very finest recipe for Piccalilli, the best Terrine of Ham Hock, Pate de Campagne and many other delicious treats that will be the finest foods you'll ever taste! Very soon I will be launching an e-commerce website hosting a fine food shop, from which you'll be able to purchase my own hand made produce, as well as some fabulous foods from other artisan producers from the north-west of England and beyond. In the mean time, feel free to have a look at my blog, where I will keep you informed of the very latest news and my own views about many new food and drink products that I think you'll enjoy. Happy eating, drinking and reading!

Leave a Reply

